Molcas Forum

Support and discussions for Molcas and OpenMolcas users and developers

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Welcome to the Molcas forum.

Please note: The forum's URL has changed. The new URL is: https://molcasforum.univie.ac.at. Please update your bookmarks!

You can choose an avatar and change the default style by going to "Profile" → "Personality" or "Display".

#1 2016-03-03 10:40:04

akovacs

Luscus on Windows 7

Hi,

I am not an IT expert and would be grateful for some help in the following problem:

I would like to check some orbitals, hence I installed Luscus on my Windows 7 machine. I created the *.grid file in the Molcas job, but I cannot open it with Luscus. At opening I get the message:

"The filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect."

The file is: C:\Pu.grid   - I cannot imagine any problem with it. I tried also from Desktop, and User1, the same error message.

Additional info about my installation:
I cannot recognise any plugins in the Luscus directory. No subdirectory (e.g. Plugins, I read, there is such a directory in Linux), beyong the luscus.exe and unins* only *.dll files in the Luscus directory. No "grid" in any of the *.dll names.

Right after I selected type .grid for Open, the following warning message appeared in the DOS Window: Could not find the icon 'gtk-file' and 'hicolor' theme, pherhaps I need to install it.
A webpage was given for hicolor, which seems to contain hicolor for Linux.
Confusing: why is it not told clearly, wether I need them or not? If I need them, a source for Windows-suitable items would be more practical than for Linux, as this Luscus is a Windows version.

Many thanks in advance,
Attila

#2 2016-03-03 17:06:26

gkova

Re: Luscus on Windows 7

Hi,

Luscus can 'understand' only luscus file. All other formats are converted by plugins.
The probable reason that luscus can not read grid files is a) missing plugins or b) luscus can't find directory containing plugins.