Molcas Forum

Support and discussions for Molcas and OpenMolcas users and developers

You are not logged in.

Announcement

Welcome to the Molcas forum.

Please note: The forum's URL has changed. The new URL is: https://molcasforum.univie.ac.at. Please update your bookmarks!

You can choose an avatar and change the default style by going to "Profile" → "Personality" or "Display".

#1 2018-04-29 22:55:16

tumitumi123

Problems in orbital optimization CASSCF

dear all,
I am studying Br2. I try to visualize Br atom orbital. But there is warning of orbital optimization during casscf.
I also saw this problem in my earlier post for CH3I at large CI bond. I really want to know why it always don't work and how to solve this problem. Below is the warning and my input.

###############################################################################
 ###                                                                         ###
 ###    Problems in orbital optimization.                                    ###
  Warning: In symmetry  1, orbital p=  10 has diagonal density matrix element D(p,p) close to two. (2 - D(p,p))= -0.133227D-14
&gateway
coord
bohr
BR    0 0  0
basis=aug-cc-pvtz
group=nosymm
&SEWARD
&scf
&RASSCF
spin=2
nactel=17 0 0
inactive=9
ras2=9
ciroot=1 1 1
symmetry=1
&GRID_IT

Even sometimes it works by changing active and inactive orbital. the order of orbital is not right. It gives me 3d4s4p, but the correct one is 4s3d4p.
what can I do with the orbital optimization problem??

#2 2018-04-30 11:19:06

nikolay

Re: Problems in orbital optimization CASSCF

The warning says that you include a doubly-occupied orbital in the active space.
Implying that it could be excluded into inactive.
But the optimization is still finished with 'happy landing'.
The final orbital ordering is done according to natural orbitals occupation.

#3 2018-04-30 15:32:30

Ignacio
Administrator